

A press release, 10th February 2020

The Czech Lion is announcing the nominations for the television works of art, the projects *The Sleepers, Most!* or *Nonstop Deli* stand a chance

The Czech Film and Television Academy (CFTA) has announced the nominations in the two categories designed for television projects. In the year of 2019 the academics got most interested by *The Cage* directed by Jiří Strach, *Nonstop Deli* directed by Jan Hřebejk and *Monsters of the Shore* by Viktor Tauš in the category of the best television film or miniseries. And among the series the best were the following projects *The Sleepers* directed by Ivan Zachariáš, *The Doom of Dejvice Theatre* directed by Miroslav Krobot and the absolute hit of last year *Most!* directed by Jan Prušinovský.

Unlike the films that enter the competition for the Czech Lions automatically providing they have fulfilled the conditions of the statutes, the broadcasters themselves have to register their projects for the television categories. This year the following subjects submitted altogether 14 projects: Czech Television, HBO Europe, TV Nova and FTV Prima. The winners in the film as well as television categories will be announced during the ceremonial gala evening of the 27th annual Czech Lion awards in Rudolfinum on Saturday 7th March 2020. The event will be broadcast live on CT1 channel of Czech Television and it will be hosted by the actor Václav Kopta just like last year.

The Academy has already announced the nominations for the film works of art where in the 15 categories altogether 17 works of art will fight for the statuette of the Czech Lion. Among these the highest number of nominations and also almost the same amount of them went to the films *Owners*, *The Painted Bird* and *Old-Timers*. The winners in the non-statutory categories have already been announced. The award for the best film poster went to Roman Mrázek, the author of the poster for the film *The Painted Bird* and the award of the film fans belongs to the film *Women on the Run* directed by Martin Horský.

In the one-round voting of the academics in the category of the **best television film or miniseries** the following projects will fight for the Czech Lion: the dramatic story about a game of cat and mouse *The Cage* (Czech Television, director: Jiří Strach), an intimate comedy not only about a generation gap with the excellent performances of Eliška Křenková and Miroslav Krobot *Nonstop Deli* (Czech Television, director: Jan Hřebejk) and almost a horror-like gloomy way of the police commissioner Výrová to the past in the miniseries *Monsters of the Shore* (Czech Television, director: Viktor Tauš). The **best television drama series** will be chosen by the members of CFTA from the following triplet of projects. An alarming view into



the recent past was offered by the series *The Sleepers* (HBO Europe, directed by Ivan Zachariáš), the fantastical comedy with a team main character was presented in *The Doom of Dejvice Theatre* (Czech Television, directed by Miroslav Krobot) and unsurprisingly the television series phenomenon of last year *Most!* (Czech Television, directed by Jan Prušinovský) will also try to win the Czech Lion.

The festive presentation of the 27th annual awards of the Czech Film and Television Academy will take place in Rudolfinum in Prague on Saturday 7th March 2020. The actor Václav Kopta will host the evening for the second time and TV viewers will be able to watch the ceremonial gala evening broadcast live by the Czech Television on CT1 at 8 p.m. The renowned director Marek Najbrt will be the creative supervisor while the proceedings of the gala evening will be directed by his not less experienced colleague Michael Čech. The scene will be created by Martin Chocholoušek.

The CFTA in cooperation with DaFilms.cz is preparing the traditional presentation of the nominated films of the 2019 Czech Lions. It will be possible to watch the selected films online at www.ceskylev.cz from 2nd to 15th March. The presentation of the selected films nominated for the Czech Lions will take place in the CineStar network of multiplex cinemas all over the Czech Republic as well in the week from 5th to 11th March. The Prague cinema Edison will offer all the films that have been nominated from 24th February to 7th March.

OVERVIEW OF THE NOMINATIONS:

BEST TELEVISION FILM or MINISERIES

Klec (The Cage) – television film, directed by Jiří Strach, screenplay by Marek Epstein, produced by Jaroslav Sedláček

Nonstop lahůdky (Nonstop Deli) – television film, directed by Jan Hřebejk, screenplay by Tomáš Pavlíček, produced by Michal Reitler

Vodník (Monsters of the Shore) - miniseries, directed by Viktor Tauš, screenplay by Petr Jarchovský, produced by Jan Štern and Jan Lekeš

BEST TELEVISION DRAMA SERIES

Bez vědomí (The Sleepers) - directed by Ivan Zachariáš, screenplay by Ondřej Gabriel, produced by Tereza Polachová, Steve Matthews and Jan Bílek

Most! - directed by Jan Prušinovský, screenplay by Petr Kolečko, produced by Michal Reitler Zkáza dejvického divadla (The Doom of Dejvice Theatre) - directed by Miroslav Krobot, screenplay by Miroslav Krobot and Ondřej Hübl, produced by Kateřina Ondřejková, Ondřej Zima and Silvie Michajlova

Altogether 192 academics have voted.

Czech Lion

The Czech Lion is a prestigious Czech film award that has been presented since 1993. Films are evaluated based on



the voting of the members of the Czech Film and Television Academy. The ceremonial gala evening will take place on Saturday 7^{th} March 2020 in Dvořák's Hall of Prague's Rudolfinum and it will be broadcast live by the Czech Television on CT1 at 8 p.m.

About the Czech Film and Television Academy:

The Czech Film and Television Academy was founded in 1995 and in 2013 it was transformed into a registered association. Its main aim is to support and promote Czech cinematographic art in the Czech Republic as well as abroad and create conditions for the development of Czech film. The academy presents the most prestigious Czech film award – the Czech Lion and nominates Czech films or documentary features for the awards of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. At the moment the CFTA consists of 313 members.

PR and press service:

Silvie Marková | markova@s-m-art.com | +420 604 748 699